Introducing NOT A BOYS NAME, the new, exciting indie-rock project from Sydney songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Dave Jenkins Jr. 

The moniker NOT A BOYS NAME is a reminder for Dave to create without concerning himself with the consequences and acts a way to avoid being pigeonholed - creatively or otherwise. “To me, it is about avoiding definition. I didn’t want my name to define me. Let the songs do that” says Dave.

Born in a sleepy coastal town outside of Sydney, Dave has spent his entire life involved with music in one way or another. His dad was a drummer, and he grew up around a tight-knit circle of friends who were obsessed with music and worshipped musicians like the Beatles and Nirvana. Dave spent much of his teen years tinkering away at demos and rough-cut recordings in his bedroom, where his love of DIY recording first took shape.

It wasn’t until Dave moved to Sydney that his musical ambitions were finally realised. A chance meeting with alternative-pop musician Andy Bull led to his first musical collaboration and from there his career took off. To date, he has worked with beloved and acclaimed Australian musicians such as Daniel Johns, Vera Blue, Lisa Mitchell, Bertie Blackman and Alex Cameron.

2020 sees NABN release his debut EP, The Internet Sucks. A cohesive culmination of writing and recordings from the last 2 years. NOT A BOYS NAME says of his new EP, “it’s the most “me” thing I’ve released”.


Songs from the EP were either started and finished in a day or took months to complete but as a whole, The Internet Sucks EP encapsulates that thirst for experimentation and new sounds.  NOT A BOYS NAME wanted to evoke the feeling of hearing your favourite song for the first time. “That’s what I felt like when I was writing these songs, and I’m really hoping that’s what people feel when they hear them. I was sitting on a mountain of songs when the corona virus pandemic (and the resulting lockdowns) kicked in. The imposed isolation forced me to sift through those recordings and really focus on who I was as a writer and find the songs that resonated with me the most.”

The Internet Sucks EP (and it’s cover art) is handmade by Dave Jenkins Jr, with some extra sprinkles here and there by his friends and collaborators. “I owe a lot of thanks to Simon Berckelman (Philadelphia Grand Jury), Kirin J Callinan, Rosie Fitzgerald (I Know Leopard) and Ben Corbett (half speed). They all helped me realise this vision in one way or another.”